Tuesday, May 06, 2008

McCain's Justice Advisory Committee

From Bench Memos at National Review Online:

For Immediate Release
Tuesday, May 6, 2008

Today, U.S. Senator John McCain announced his Justice Advisory Committee to the Campaign. Please find below the Chairs and members of the Committee:

Chairs Of The Justice Advisory Committee:

Theodore B. Olson — former Solicitor General of the United States
Senator Sam Brownback — United States Senator, Kansas

Steering Committee

Michael Abramowicz — Professor of Law, George Washington University Law School
Hon. William P. Barr — former Attorney General of the United States
Gerard V. Bradley — Professor of Law, Notre Dame Law School
Rachel Brand — former Assistant Attorney General for Office of Legal Policy
Steven Calabresi — George C. Dix Professor of Law, Northwestern University School of Law
Dean Ronald A. Cass — Chairman, Center for the Rule of Law; Dean Emeritus, Boston University School of Law
Senator Daniel Coats — former United States Senator, Indiana
Manus M. Cooney — former Chief Counsel and Staff Director, U.S. Senate Committee on the Judiciary
Charles J. Cooper — former Assistant Attorney General, Office of Legal Counsel
Arthur B. Culvahouse, Jr. — former White House Counsel to President Ronald Reagan
Carol E. Dinkins — Partner, Vinson & Elkins
John F. Duffy — Oswald Symister Colclough Research Professor of Law, George Washington University Law School
Miguel A. Estrada — former Assistant to the Solicitor General of the United States
Charles Fried — Beneficial Professor of Law, Harvard Law School; former Solicitor General of the United States
Sandra S. Froman — Arizona attorney
Richard W. Garnett — Professor of Law, Notre Dame Law School
Robert P. George — McCormick Professor of Jurisprudence, Princeton University
Senator Lindsey Graham — United States Senator, South Carolina
Senator Phil Gramm — former United States Senator, Texas
Governor Frank Keating — former Governor of Oklahoma
Orin S. Kerr — Professor, George Washington University Law School
Senator Jon Kyl — United States Senator, Arizona
Christopher Landau — Partner, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Senator Trent Lott — former United States Senator, Mississippi
Randy Mastro — former Deputy Mayor of New York City
John O. McGinnis — Professor of Law, Northwestern University School of Law
Maureen E. Mahoney — former Deputy Solicitor General of the Unites States
Thomas W. Merrill — Charles Keller Beekman Professor, Columbia Law School
Marc L. Mukasey — Partner, Bracewell & Giuliani LLP ; former assistant U.S. attorney for the Southern District of New York
Caleb Nelson — Professor of Law, University of Virginia School of Law
Eileen J. O'Connor — former Assistant Attorney General, Tax Division, U.S. Department of Justice
Hon. Thomas R. Phillips — former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Texas
Edward R. Reines — Partner, Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP
Kristi L. Remington — former Deputy Assistant Attorney General in the Office of Legal Policy
Professor Daniel B. Rodriguez — Minerva House Drysdale Regents Chair in Law, The University of Texas at Austin Scho ol of Law
Nicholas Quinn Rosenkranz — Associate Professor of Law, Georgetown University Law Center
Ronald D. Rotunda — University Professor and Professor of Law, George Mason University
Cathy Cleaver Ruse — Senior Fellow for Legal Studies at the Family Research Council; Governor, Ave Maria School of Law
Peter B. Rutledge — Associate Professor of Law, University of Georgia School of Law
Jon A. Sale — former federal prosecutor for NY and Miami; former law professor, Nova Southeastern and St. Thomas
John Smietanka — former U.S. attorney
Stephen F. Smith — Professor of Law, John V. Ray Research Professor, University of Virginia School of Law
[ED.: Steve is an old UVA Law School friend of mine; we were in the Federalist Society together]

George J. Terwilliger, III — former Deputy Attorney General of the United States
Senator Fred Thompson — former United States Senator, Tennessee
Eugene Volokh — Gary T. Swartz Professor of Law, UCLA School of Law
Dan K. Webb — Chairman, Winston & Strawn; former U.S. Attorney for the Northern District of Illinois
My Comments:
I have highlighted in red those prominent Catholics on the Committee that are of particular interest to me. There may be other Catholics that I didn't highlight, but these are the ones with whom I am somewhat familiar.

One steering committee member who I highlighted is an old law school friend of mine, Steve Smith.

Previous Pro Ecclesia posts on this subject:
Brownback Previews McCain Speech on Judiciary [UPDATED - Must-read text from McCain's speech]

Labels: , , , ,


At 5/06/2008 8:27 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Ron Rotunda of the U of I taught me legal ethics. First class mind and great sense of humor.

At 5/07/2008 4:46 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Looks like a great list.



Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

hit counter for blogger